Feliz Navidad (12/19/13)

Posted on Updated on

Hola todos!
I hope everything’s going well and everything is going well at home and you’re all getting in the Christmas spirit. Wear some ugly sweaters for me.

This week has been really good and really fast. We went contacting at the university again last Friday. I could tell that my Spanish had improved. I was able to understand what they were saying (mostly) and say more than a prepared script. I can’t wait until I can speak the language well. There are so many things I want to share but I don’t know how. I know…patience, 2NE 27:30.

We’ve been progressing a fake investigator since our first week here. It’s been interesting to see how our lessons change. They’ve gone from us trying to just explain everything we think he needs to know, to us trying to actually talk to him and figure out what he’s thinking. There’s definitely a difference between teaching lessons and teaching people.

I made some good friends in the group for Haiti; it was sure sad to see them go. They are going to be good missionaries.

Haitian Missionaries

We just got a bunch of new Spanish speaking missionaries today, a bunch going to PR!! And some more North Americans today or tomorrow. Can you believe we only have two weeks left here? I can’t.

Tomorrow we go out to the Campo on splits with the missionaries in the field. While I’m definitely nervous, my excitement far out ways it. Stay tuned.

I joked last week about “mystery soup”; a soup with an assortment of meat, the identity unknown. It was just a joke until yesterday; I saw a hair in the soup and thought ew, gross but whatever. But then I realized it was attached to a piece of meat, and that the whole chunk of meat was still hairy. I lost my appetite pretty quick after that..and again just now. Other than that, the food has been pretty good, ha-ha.

We had the chance to watch the Devotional by Elder Bednar that Halley talked about: “The Character of Christ”. I’ve been thinking about it ever since. The idea he talks about of looking outward instead of looking in to the natural man (Mosiah 3:19) really encompasses everything when you stop to think about it. I recommend watching it/reading it if you can find it.

So my Christmas message for this week is to look at the example that newborn babe set during his earthly ministry. Why is it that “if ye have not charity, ye are nothing?” What it ultimately comes down to is, it’s never about us, and yet it’s all about us. Whosoever shall lose his life shall find it Matt 10:39.
I wish you all a very merry Christmas from The DR!
nos vemos,

Elder Jacob

DR temple2

missionaries on the stairs
Chillin’ on the stairs
Leave a Reply

