Hola Todos! (1/27/14)

Posted on

yo y mi comp
yo y mi comp

New food of the week, Pulpo! or octopus in English. It’s actually really good, at least the way it was prepared for me. It was kind of like octopus salad with tomatoes and dressing. Rico.

My apartment
My apartment

We’re having interviews with the president today in our apartment, so as you can imagine our cleaning was a little more detailed than usual.

Oh and I just got an email from him that says send all mail to my personal address, (the Calle Lafayette one) not the mission office. Because they won’t deliver.

Thanks for the rubber cockroach in my shoe Mom and Dad. Luckily I dumped my shoe out before I put it on. It’s going to good use though; I put the cockroach in my companion’s cereal box and freaked him out pretty good. It is now sitting on a plate with some fruit for when the mission president comes to visit.

I honestly can’t believe it’s week 4 already. I was looking at pictures of the CCM the other day and that already seems like it was forever ago.

Yes, Nana my companion is from Bolivia, so he picked up the language pretty quick. He actually served on one of the islands for a few months where they speak English though, so he knows a surprising amount, which is really nice. All of the Spanish speaking elders here are encouraged to learn English on their mission. In order to open up more opportunities for them after their mission.

The people here are really nice. Or at least I think so… I can’t always tell what they’re saying. No but really, they all make me feel welcome. It’s interesting, if you thought us US Mormons shake hands a lot, you should come to Puerto Rico. If you arrive to the church for example and there are already people chatting in the foyer, you need to work your way around to every person until you’ve shaken each hand.

Papa, to answer your question as to what is the most difficult thing for the people to grasp, I would probably say, the need for anything other than what they have. They don’t understand the uniqueness of our message. My companion describes them as a lazy lazy people. A lot of people have a very strong belief in God and Christ, but like I said, they’re happy with what they have. We taught a lesson to an investigator this week about prayer and revelation from God, how to receive answers. And at the end I said, do you understand the importance of this? Do you have any questions that you would like to ask the Lord? After some thought he responded that no, everything was pretty good. So I had to open up to Moroni 10:4 and remind him of the reason we were on his front porch teaching him. One of the biggest questions we can ponder in this life, and he still doesn’t quite grasp the significance. It is the same with less active members. They don’t quite understand the nature of this gospel, how it is a gospel of continual growth and improvement and service. A lot of them think they have been baptized and they believe they don’t need anything more. But there is SO much more.

I feel like my Spanish has kind of hit a plateau. I felt a ton of improvement the first few weeks but now it feels kind of at a standstill. I’m sure it’s just part of the growth. While contacting one night we met a man who didn’t quit believe in our message, but still wanted to talk about God..for an hour. These Puertoricans lovvve to talk. For some reason, a lot of his conversation was directed at me. As the hour went on my frustration grew and of course as I got more angry I understood less and less. It was a good reminder of patience.

A lot of the lessons we’ve taught this week have been from the last chapter of John. The question that The Resurrected Lord asks Peter, three times. “Do you love me?” With the instruction to “Feed my sheep”. The more I’ve thought about that passage, the more meaning it takes. Early, Peter had been asked a different question, three times, and had responded in that he didn’t know Christ, three times. Was it coincidence that The Lord asked his question three times? I don’t think so. I think the Lord was trying to show Peter that while he might feel unworthy to represent Him as an apostle, the Lord didn’t think so. But all he had to do was feed His sheep, turn outwards.

The Sunset, and our neighbors backyard.
The Sunset, and our neighbors backyard.
The view from our front door
The view from our front door
my backyard
my backyard
My backyard
My backyard

I hope everything is going well at home! Sorry I don’t have more pictures this week; I’ll try to take more!

Nos Vemos,

Elder Jacob

(Here are some pictures from the CCM. They are a little late in coming but I haven’t had access to a computer where I could upload them. )

mis dos maestros favoritos, Nunez y Rubeo
mis dos maestros favoritos, Nunez y Rubeo
DR CCM
DR CCM
At the DR CCM
At the DR CCM
The view from the DR CCM
The view from the DR CCM

 

The plane ride. The clouds here are sooo cool
The plane ride. The clouds here are sooo cool

 

Leave a Reply

