General Conference (4/8)

Posted on

Puerto Rico!
Puerto Rico!

I threw up again this week, but I’m back to normal now. It must have been some bad food or something because it ws just a one time thing. It was while were were contacting in a neighborhood, in somebody’s front yard. I’m pretty sure the house was up for rent though, so that makes it a little bit better. haha, so awkward.

General Conference was so great, I hope everyone got a chance to watch it! I got to watch it in English, like Halley. There are enough Elders and members who speak English that there was a separate room for that. I look forward to reading those talks again, and again. I really liked the talk by Elder Bednar, like President Eyring talked about, he is one of my spiritual heros. I keep thinking about the reference to “my yoke is easy and my burden is light”. How that, in our covenants with Christ, we are entitled to his strength and help.

My District
My District

We also had a zone meeting/interviews yesterday, which is why I didn’t write on my normal day. The vision that President Smartt has for this mission is inspiring. I feel like I’ve arrived in a time of change, for a purpose. If we want it, work for it and do it right, his goal is to be having companionships baptize weekly. The strength of the church in this area will grow so much. But of course the numbers aren’t the ultimate motivation, like it was said in Conference, He teaches to the one, and so do we.

We set a baptism date and a plan to accomplish it with two of our long time investigators. Jose Matos and Leonidas. This area has seen a lot of down time, and Elder Portillo and I feel like its time to really make some progress. I’m excited to help them reach that goal and those blessings.

neighborhood

We had a great contact this week. We still need to follow up, (This Thursday or Friday) but it seems like there’s a lot of potential. It was in our neighborhood, 8:30 or so at night and the street was completely dead, with everybody inside. So we started calling houses. The third house a lady came to the window. I introduced myself and just told her that we have a message that can bless her life, that can change her life. She came outside and we started talking. That’s something I like about being a missionary, you can be bold. I can promise these people an eternal family, answers to there questions and peace to their trials because its true and I know it. Because this is the original church of Jesus Christ restored on the earth again, there is so so much that can only be found here. That’s why I knew it could change her life.

Reflect
Reflect

Much love,

Elder Jacob

We decorated the apt. a bit. Represent.
We decorated the apt. a bit. Represent.
Under a bridge
Under a bridge
another bridge
another bridge
Tennis anyone?
Tennis anyone?
I love the sunsets here.
I love the sunsets here.

 

Little Lizard
Little Lizard
Leave a Reply

