Ponce es Ponce (3/10)

Posted on

Holllla,

Real men hem pants and iron.
Real men hem pants and iron.

I need to start be saying HAPPY BIRTHDAY! to two of my favorite people, Ella and Spencer. Be looking for a package in the mail this week :D. Growing up so fast!

Auntie B, I got your package with the goodies this week, thank you so much! They’re soo good. My companion, after trying one said “Wow, she should make a business.” I agree.

We cleaned up the yard one of our investigator's neighbors. She was so happy to have those weeds and grass taken down.
We cleaned up the yard one of our investigator’s neighbors. She was so happy to have those weeds and grass taken down.

This has been Elder Lara’s last week in the mission. He flies home on Thursday of this week. Isn’t that crazy?! I cannot imagine what it’s going to feel like after two years to be ready to go home. I’m really glad he extended his mission and came to Ponce 4 with us; he’s been a good example for me in a lot of ways. That’s so cool and nice of him that he wrote you a letter, Dad. He was excited today to get your reply in Spanish. It’s funny being with him this last week, all he does is talk about his future wife. How he’s going to meet her, flirt with her and propose. I told him he’ll be married in less than two weeks.

It’s interesting to talk about different languages here. There are a lot of kids here that are fluent in both English and Spanish. A member this week was telling me I need to speak only Spanish in the home, and my kids will learn English at school and whatnot. That sounds great, but first I need a Puerto Rican wife… Just kidding, I’m focused.

I pulled an iguana out of a hole the other day by its tail. I felt like the Crocodile Man, mate.

We really have a great ward here. Our bishop is so dedicated and so nice. A lot of the time I feel like he has more of the missionary spirit than most missionaries do. Contacting on his street we met multiple people who said, “Oh yeah, I know a bit about your church, Hermano Padro always talks to me about it”. When we were cleaning the church with him this Saturday he took a break to go say hi to the neighbors and invite them to church. Such a great example of letting your light shine.

You can buy a bundle of bananas on the street here for a dollar. Idk if I’m crazy, but I think they’re the best bananas I’ve ever tasted.

I also had the best rice I’ve ever tasted. (Both that or it was late and I was super hungry) It’s called arroz mampostea’o. You guys should try it.

I messed up a ton playing the piano in primary yesterday, but that’s alright. The songs for next week are soo hard and I’ve never heard of them. And I probably won’t have a time to practice before next Sunday. Wish me luck!!

Elder Jacob

New calendar with pictures of Home Sweet Home. Thanks Mom.
New calendar with pictures of Home Sweet Home. Thanks Mom.
Leave a Reply

