Doggy Treat (6-30-14)

Posted on

Mis pantalones favoritos!
Mis pantalones favoritos!
My favorite pants!
My favorite pants!

I got bit by a pit bull Wednesday night. But it’s nothing to serious, I’m totally fine.

Hospital Selfie
Hospital Selfie

We were contacting in our neighborhood at 8:00 PM or so before going to an appointment. I was walking on the opposite side of the street of Elder Portillo and we came to a dog that is always in the street and always barks, but never does anything. He would bark and I would pretend to pick up a rock and he would shrink away, like I said, coward. But as I was focused on that dog, I walked by a house with two or three other dogs. I all of a sudden realized that the gate was open and that a dog was running out of it and then boom, he bit me on the left thigh above my knee. I started to backpedal into the street and he followed and bit me again on the right leg in almost the same spot. I was hitting him in the head and yelling, and after the second bite, the owner called the dog and it went back to the house. She gave us alcohol and her phone number and told us to go to the hospital. I called the mission nurse and she told me the same with instructions about the bill and everything. I cleaned up the wounds with soap and water, alcohol and hydrogen peroxide and wrapped it up with some gauze from my 1st aid kit. In the hospital they cleaned it, and gave me three injections, one in the arm and two in the butt cheek. The one in the butt cheek hurt worse than the dog bite. The owner had told us that the dog had been treated for rabies, but the hospital didn’t even ask, they just assume that he wasn’t and give the injections, which is very smart in case of misinformation. We were in the hospital until 1:30 and got a ride home from our ward mission leader. The next day we picked up antibiotics and painkillers from the pharmacy which I am taking three times a day. We know a really great guy who we’re teaching right now who is a doctor and he’s given me a lot of instruction and help as to the care of my leg. I’m cleaning it three times a day with alcohol, hydrogen peroxide, and an antibacterial soap. I then apply Neosporin and cover it with band aids. It really doesn’t hurt that bad at all, not even the night that it happened. We stopped by the police today to report it but they said that it’s too late to do anything about the dog, and that it has to be the same day. They took the address and phone number though and said they would stop by and talk to them, and make sure the neighbors know. I got off easy, but I’d hate for the same thing to happen to a child. But yeah, I’m completely fine. I’m a little bit bummed about my favorite pants but what are you going to do.

Pretty dog bite
Pretty dog bite
other pretty dog bite
other pretty dog bite

Maybe ironically in the eyes of some, this week I have really begun to love my mission. I have always done the things happily, I have always been grateful and willing to be a missionary for these two years, but I’ve really come to love what I do. When else will I have the opportunity to bless so many lives in so little time? I feel the Lord working through me more than ever before, I’m beginning to see what it means to be an “instrument in his hand.”

Last night we gave a blessing of health and strength to the 10 year old daughter of a less active family. As her mother explained to us, at the age of 10, mentally she is 3 or 4. The faith that was in that room invited the Holy Ghost so strong it was difficult to deny. I know that that blessing that was given will be one to change her life. And I know that the Lord wanted us to give it, and that he was preparing us even before her mom made the request. I’m sure glad to be a missionary.

-Elder Jacob

Watermelon from a super nice street vendor
Watermelon from a super nice street vendor
Trashed BMW
Trashed BMW
Stray Kitten
Stray Kitten
Cute little lizard I found
Cute little lizard I found

Leave a Reply

