Hasta Luego Ponce (10-20-14)

Posted on

They so copied us.
They so copied us.

It’s official, I’m out of here. Headed for the San Juan Zone in an area called Pontejuela. I’m going to be the district leader in a house with 3 other Latinos, my companion is from Mexico, Elder Echevaria! I’m looking forward to it. I say hasta luego because everyone who is born in ponce returns to ponce..so we’ll see.

It was very cool to be able to finish off the transfer with a birthday and a baptism.

Elder Colson tried to get me to sleep in, knowing I wouldn’t. He snuck out with the phone, but I ended up waking up at 6:35 anyways. I had a dream that I was late for something and woke up hah.

Birthday cheesecake. Thanks guys.
Birthday cheesecake. Thanks guys.
Birthday dinner at Chili's
Birthday dinner at Chili’s
Another cake!
Another cake!
Birthday shakedown!
Birthday shakedown!

They surprised me in the morning with a homemade cheesecake and a song, so nice of them. They also took me out for dinner to Chilis where I got sang to again! And then the WML from Ponce 4 surprised me with another cake that night, I was so stuffed. It was a really good birthday.

I also got the birthday package this morning! thank you, It made me so happy!

The baptism went well. Elder Colson and I both ended up being in the water to help her; she was nervous. Yolanda told us when we got there that the water was too cold, that she wouldn’t get into that. So we heated up a  huge pot of water and dumped it in on the stairs right before we went in. It didn’t change the overall temperature of the water at all, but it at least made it seem not so cold..until you were already in. We were able to confirm her officially a member of the church yesterday.

Getting the font ready for the baptism.
Getting the font ready for the baptism.

10-20-14 baptism prep

We are ready for a baptism!
We are ready for a baptism!
Yolanda with her mom who is ready to be baptized.
Yolanda with her mom who is ready to be baptized.

10-20-14 baptism

-Elder Jacob

Leave a Reply

