Faith (12-8-14)

Posted on

 It took me a while to warm up to her. Pit bulls still make me nervous.
It took me a while to warm up to her. Pit bulls still make me nervous.
My area.
My area.

My faith has grown this week, especially my testimony of the power of prayer. I remember Halley wrote about a week when she prayed to find families and found families, so I’ve tried to put that in practice and exercise a bit of faith.
As a companionship and personally we’ve begun to pray specifically for help finding people. We fasted for a baptism in the month of Dec. And then we’ve gone out and searched. What has happened in the past 4 or 5 days I consider to be miracles. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen days where things work out as perfectly as they have recently, we have truly been guided. We found 5 new investigators, and 5-6 really great contacts who we set a date with to teach. We found them as we were looking for less active member  of just walking, and a lot of times they found us. This morning I prayed for the chance to find someone today, something I don’t usually do on Pdays, and while we were shopping a lady came up to us and told us her son is a mormon. We’re going to visit her and her husband, both non-members. I know that the Lord is preparing his children to recieve his Gospel. He just needs a couple of missionaries who are willing to work, and he’ll give them the people.

It’s going very well with Elder Brinkerhoff. I finally memorized his name. He’s from Kearns, Utah. He is very willing, very focused, and very humble. He’s been preparing for this mission and you can tell. He’s a bit hard on himself when it comes to the progress of the language, but I think it’s just something he’s going to have to get used to. It’s a big change. I’m trying to help him understand that even though he can’t express what he feels, just having those desires and faith to teach and find counts more than anything. I think his faith is a big reason we’ve found as many people as we have this week. Being with two latinos is going to help him a lot. The two of them are very willing to help which is really nice.

We had the Christmas performance this Satuday and it turned out really great. I especially liked the choir. Puerto Ricans can sing.

Looking forward to Christmas, there are a lot of Christmas lights up. It’s very cool for me this christmas to be able to teach and testify of the real reason why we celebrate this holiday. As I testify of Him, I feel my faith grow and everything seems to make a bit more sense. We share this video with everyone who will listen to us.

http://www.mormon.org/christmas

Leave a Reply

