Nuevo Ano (12-29-14)

Posted on

Christmas party at mission home.
Christmas party at mission home.

This week has been great. Lots of Arroz con gandules, pernil, potato salad, macaroni salad, arroz con dulce, coquito. yummmmm. I’ve come to the conclusion that I have to either learn how to cook this great food, or marry a Puertorican wife.

It was really great to see that family, and to see Halley! Her Spanish is good! I feel like kind-of a slacker out here talking so much English. I can’t believe she only has 3 more transfers left. Here I am a little more than half way and she’s almost done, crazy huh? She’s such a good missionary.

You guys look great. The time was short, but it was good. Does my voice really sound different?

Elder brinkerhoff and I have been finding a lot of people, it’s been great. We’ve implemented Halley’s goal to contact 10 people every day and it’s helped us a lot. It’s also helped E. B. with his fear of contacting and talking to people. His spanish has improved a lot and he’s been able to participate more and more in the lessons. We’re actually having a lot of opportunities to teach which is great. I remember with E. Colson I wanted him to have the practice, but we didn’t have anyone to teach.

We made contact with Rafael and found that he’s going through some family struggles, but it doesn’t have to do with the church, he’s still strong in that area which is good.

We made contact yesterday with a really great family that E Echavarria and E Munoz had been teaching before I got here. The family progressed, went to church, but they somehow lost contact. We talked for a long time yesterday, gained their confidence and then taught them. They said they’re going to come to church this next Sunday!

I feel like there’s a ton of potential in this area. I felt that when I got here and I feel it even more now that we’re working well. I’ve never felt this way about an area before. I just can’t wait for the next day and the next lessons and the next new investigators.

I feel like recently I’ve really started to love my mission, just this last transfer. It’s not that I didn’t like it before, it’s just that lately, I feel like the Lord is really starting to use me as an instrument in his hand. It’s a lot less about me and a lot more about the people I contact or teach. I feel the spirit in my life and I feel a new-found love for these people and this work.

Happy New year, set some good goals.

Elder Jacob

Leave a Reply

