The Last Post (11-2-15)

Posted on

This last week has been very joyful, but saddening at the same time. Rosita was married and baptized on Friday!! She asked my to be the one to baptize her and it was a very special opportunity for me, one of the most special in my mission. Last night we visited them to say goodbye and we committed her husband and one of her daughters to seriously investigate the church. As I testified of Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon I had no doubt that what I was saying was true.
Two transfers ago President had mentioned the possibility of training and I was excited for the opportunity. I prayed for a new, prepared, mature missionary to be able to pass on everything I’ve learned and become. I feel like Elder Glazier was an answer to that prayer. It was really special for me to talk with him after our baptism of Rosita about obedience and dedication and sacrifice and how all of those things really do bring blessings. I have such a strong testimony of that after these two years. It’s such a blessing that Elder Glazier can learn that now, and come to do much greater things than I’ve done in my mission.

I was reading in Alma 26 this morning. “Have we not great reason to rejoice?” That is how I feel as these two years come to an end. The opportunity that the Lord gave me to baptize Rosita on my last weekend here after 6 months of working with her was without doubt a tender mercy of the Lord. I’ve come to love that family so much and it made me so happy to see her finally make that step. It was really hard for me to say goodbye yesterday.
I’m so grateful for the opportunities He’s given me to learn and to grow and to affect the lives of others. These two years have been the most demanding of my life. Here, I’ve come across the greatest challenges and trials, but I’ve also come to know my Savior in a much more personal way. I know that He loves me, I know that this work is true, and I know that obedience brings blessings.

As I finish the mission I feel, if anything, more committed to continue onward in this work. I feel like that’s what my Heavenly Father expects of me.

-Elder Jacob

Leave a Reply

